Reel Updates: Returning Home and to the Silver Screen!

Hey there, my faithful readers! It’s been far too long since I’ve informed you all on what movies were worth going to see, and which were better left alone. Needless to say, I was busy at camp this summer, doing videography work once again at Camp Chen-A-Wanda. I figured that, as I sit on this bus returning me home to my amazing city of Pittsburgh, I would let you all know about what my plans are, now that I’m returning to my blogging ways!

Before I start, I wanted to give a shoutout to all of my friends from camp that are probably mow reading this for the first time. All of your love and support meant the world to me throughout this past summer, and I hope to hear from you just as much as you read what I have to say. Everyone who knows me should know that I’m more then up for anyone to send their own personal responses to my reviews to me whenever they want, and I would love to have any discussions about film. After all, these artistic mediums were invented so that we could digest and discuss them, so what good is keeping it to ourselves anyhow? Anyways, just wanted to make sure I gave any prospective new readers from camp a shoutout (trust me, I won’t always be this cheesy/melodramatic).

As far as what I missed, a good number of popular movies came out while I was gone, and while I would love to take a day and watch them all, there’s simply not enough time in the day. For now, should I rent something and check it out before my top 10 lists at the end of the year, I’ll write a simple status about it and save any further thoughts for a later date.

Additionally, I promised to review several indie films throughout the summer, particularly ones that had a limited release in theaters. The only two that I managed to see were The Witch and Green Room. For those curious about my thoughts, I’ll provide a two sentence review and arbitrary numerical rating below:

 

“For all the work that The Witch‘s actors and director put in to create an original thriller, the third act sadly undercuts this through predictable twists, settling to place itself in the easiest ending possible. While the film has several fascinating ideas going on, it ultimately collapses under the weight of trying to please everyone at once.

7.5 Freaky Ass Goats out of 10

“Green room is the rare thriller that remains tense and brutal throughout, while simultaneously managing to portray both good and bad sides sympathetically. For those that can stomach the very realistic gore, Green Room is further proof that the history of great horror cinema lays within the hands of indie filmmakers.”

9.5 Scary Piccards out of 10
That’s all the news I have for now. I’m planning on going to see Suicide Squad sometime this coming week, so be on the lookout for that! (And please hold back the pitchforks and torches, guys). It’s been a fantastic summer, but it’s gonna be even better to once again see some movies, and dish out some Reel Thoughts.

Leave a Reply

